October 5th marks the 2nd anniversary of the passing of Apple co-founder Steve Jobs.  He died the year I graduated college and got divorced.  Between the birthdays of my daughter and mom.  There is not much at all that can be said about the man that hasn’t been heavily treaded on before.  The focus of various documentaries and biographies, Jobs’ life is truly and American Dream tale.  He was a legit self made millionaire.  He was adopted by hardworking blue collar parents who like all moms and dads,  wanted the best for him.  He was a loving child and always treated them as his “real” parents even after finding his biological parents.  I try to be a good son and usually connect with fellow good sons.  

     I also connect with philosophers.  I love philosophy and I kinda think of Jobs as more of a philosopher and an artist as opposed to a computer guy.  Steve Wozniak was the tech guy, Steve Jobs was the visionary guy.  I love Albert Einstein too, and I hate math.  Again, I’m drawn to the philosophy.  I get in trouble sometimes, especially with my girlfriend for wanting things to be perfect and knowing that they can be if we or people in general just tried a little bit harder.  Jobs never settled and knew better things could be achieved through better efforts.  I dig that.  

     Jobs was also known to be notoriously difficult to work with.  He expected a lot and didn’t like to be told no.  I’ve taken “no” quite a bit in life and would like a little bit more of that devil may care attitude.  The flaws that were evident in Mr. Jobs are essential for relating to the man as a flawed human being, but in his case who was also a genius innovator who inspired at least 2 or 3 generations and many more to come.  He was lucky to find his path young in life, while I’m still flipping over rocks.  He was a spirtiual man and spent some of his youth studying Zen and Buddhism and despite what he ended up believing, he never stopped searching for reasons to exist other than making money.  Again, I totally dig that.  Here’s to you Mr. Steve Jobs.

 

My favorite Jobs quote;  “For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.” 

 

Image

 

I’d recommend the Walter Issacson biography to any one interested in Steve Jobs or Apple, or just kick ass stories in general.

